Christmas Sewing & Gifting

This Christmas saw me making my first unselfish sewing project! I chose Burda 7359; a shirt for my man. It was my first, not because I’m selfish (lol) but because I wasn’t confident enough with my sewing skills to make something for someone I love.

But after many gentle & sincere pleas from my beloved for a shirt made just for him, I couldn’t resist any longer and decided to surprise him with one for Christmas :) I selected the pattern because of the dressy casual style, which he favours, and the fabric because of the colours and the fact he loves plaid. I used a contrasting dark blue thread and buttons to enhance the light blue in the pattern and to show the topstitching more clearly.

20121226-140001.jpg
(hehe… Christmas morning; he’s not fully awake yet!)

Dontcha love it with the clashing plaid pj’s? lol

I have to say… this was the most challenging and time consuming project I’ve done yet: aside from the Bombshell dress, that is! ^_^ Cuff plackets, in particular, were a pretty big learning curve for me!

FYI, that’s a fabric quirk there on the sleeve placket – that looks like a stray white thread… this fabric has character! lol

20121226-140210.jpg

20121226-140232.jpg
I will make this again for my man but probably not in plaid because it’s just too tough to get all the seams pattern matched. There’s a yoke, two piece collar, front and cuff plackets, etc, and flat felled seams on everything. That being said, I like the way it looks on him – you don’t notice the non-matched areas, and it does match better than a LOT of his RTW garments! ;)

20121226-140400.jpg

20121226-140418.jpg

20121226-140443.jpg

20121226-140507.jpg

20121226-140535.jpg

He wore it all day Christmas day and it wound up here:

20121226-141103.jpg
… which is where all his favourites wind up lol. I take that as a good sign :P

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

22 responses to “Christmas Sewing & Gifting

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

