My Pattern Pyramid Make: DKNY Vogue 1027

The Pattern Pyramid is on its way to the other side of my fair country, and I’ve finished my chosen pattern! :)

I moved it up in the rotation to keep the spirit of the pyramid alive, and because it’s a great versatile dress I knew I could use right away.

I chose this pattern, Vogue 1027:

20130204-143934.jpg

I used a charcoal jersey I bought on my meetup with Andrea. I wanted the skirt shorter and less full, so I redrafted the skirt as an A-line. I also decided I wanted long sleeves, so I used the sleeve pattern from a basic tshirt pattern and redrafted the armscye to fit, as the original pattern has the cap sleeve built into the bodice pieces.

I had to make some minor adjustments but I was really happy with the results – a long sleeve dress is awesome in winter, with fuzzy tights and boots!!

Please excuse the grainy quality of the pics; the lighting in here is terrible! :)

20130204-145007.jpg

20130204-145418.jpg
I didn’t add the elastic casing at the waist, as the way it’s constructed, the tie is sewn on, sandwiched between the bodice & skirt so it’s pretty bulky there. I don’t think I’d attach the tie if I sewed this again.

All the hems, side seam, and the neck/front bodice opening call for a double stitch finish. I sewed the double seams with a single needle on my machine, eyeballing it. I did not use my serger at all, though I could have for the construction seams.

Closeup of the pleats on the bodice:

20130204-145031.jpg
I liked this feature!! :)

All in all, a very comfortable, wearable dress that I’ve already worn once and will wear lots, I’m sure! :)

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

33 responses to “My Pattern Pyramid Make: DKNY Vogue 1027

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

