Knitting Catch-Up!

Hey, guess what? I’ve been knitting!!! And I LOVE it! :D

I personally can’t believe how much I’ve learned in just a few short months (and perhaps more surprising, it’s been mostly unselfish makes too!! LOL). The first thing I ever made was a top, which I’m wearing in the photo but which I gave to my sister:

Image

four hats, one for Maz, one for my niece, and one for my friend, as well as one for myself:

photo-1
Image

Image

two pairs fingerless gloves; the red ones for me to match my hat, and the black ones for Maz, although I’m wearing them in the photo LOL – they’re too big on me :)
Image

Image

and two cup cosies for Christmas presents (I’m teaching myself cables on a third). I’ve also got two cardigans half made. Seriously. In three and a half months I went from not even knowing how to hold needles to all that!! :D

For anyone out there who’s intimidated by knitting I strongly suggest you give it a try! It’s incredibly soothing, and so non-threatening: even the stuff you don’t know how to do is easily learned, as there’s TONS of great books, blogs and YouTube clips of any technique you come across that’s unfamiliar :) Plus it’s portable – which is why I’ve been able to do so much in such a short time even with my crazy schedule :)

I’ve found myself taking strongly to circular needles. I’ve grown a very respectable collection of interchangeables in both wood and stainless steel. I use them for everything, even flat knitting :) I love the circulars so much, I even taught myself Magic Loop, (which, for anyone unfamiliar, is a technique for knitting small things like gloves or socks with one circular cable rather than using double pointed needles).

Anyway, i have so many more exciting projects on the horizon and I’ve even managed to build up a YARN STASH haha!!! Who could resist surrounding themselves in soft, squishy balls of wool, alpaca, merino, cashmere and silk in every weight and colour of the rainbow??

Do you knit? Are you a public knitter? How big is your yarn stash? lol

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

16 responses to “Knitting Catch-Up!

  • sewbusylizzy

    I never used to knit ‘in public’ but since blogging I’ve got more confidence and happily knit anywhere. Airports, buses, work – you name it – I will knit there!

    • symondezyn

      That’s awesome!! I was shy about it too, at first, but I’m getting more confident too – I actually flung a straight needle across the bus when I first started & had to ask a stranger to reach under their seat & get it for me haha… that’s why circulars rule! lol. I haven’t done it at work yet but I’m sure it’ll happen at some point ^_^

  • mrsmole

    WOW and you never knew how to knit before this latest adventure??? AMAZING! Has this taken over your sewing time? The fingerless gloves are so sweet and the hats with cable stitches…holy crap! Your teacher must be so proud of you! Merry Christmas and stay warm and cozy!

    • symondezyn

      Nope, I actually just decided to learn near the end of August – I took the Knit Lab Craftsy class because no one I know IRL knits!! :) Maybe I’m channelling my grandma :) I think it actually helps me find motivation to sew, cause sewing & knitting take different moods – but they inspire each other… if that makes sense lol. Merry Christmas to you & yours as well! :)

  • ooobop!

    Wow! Lady you are a machine. All those wonderful woollies in just a few months! I am so impressed. And also jealous of how snuggly you are all going to be! Have a wonderful Christmas sweets. And I’ll very much look forward to more of your amazing creations next year! xxx

  • Joanne

    Those hats and gloves are fantastic! I love circular needles too – I haven’t even used a normal pair since I started learning to knit!

  • busylizzieinbrizzy

    I love to knit, I am trying to resist having a stash although I do have wool for two jumpers and one cowl waiting for me, but that is it. MUST RESIST!
    I will knit anywhere that I know I will be sitting for a while, mostly in front of the tellie, but also when flying or on long car trips :)
    BTW – you can do socks on circular needles too, just google the magic loop method, no DPNs required :)

    • symondezyn

      I actually taught myself the magic loop method so I could do those lil’ gloves… can you believe that?? I was pretty proud of myself LOL :D I mostly want to learn dpn’s just to say I can; it’s always good to have options ^__^

      Don’t resist the stash… it’s inevitable haha ^__^

  • Andrea

    I’m so glad you took it up and that you love it. The portability is a total plus for me, plus who doesn’t like to wear cozy handknits?

  • Jo

    Loving your knitting! I’ll look forward to what you come up with next :) (you’ve been commenting on my blog but I only just realised you have a blog I can follow back! Yay!) :)

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 114 other followers

