Could it be?? My first TNT pattern – Colette Laurel!

A few of you may recall I was the lucky recipient of a Hart’s fabric voucher some time ago. I blogged my careful selections but up until now my beautiful fabrics have lain in wait for the perfect projects to give them life.

Well recently I gave my beautiful red silk habutai and charcoal silk voile triumphant life as sassy yet smart Laurel tops :) (as a side note, you guys, this is my FIRST time using a pattern TWICE (or 3 times actually!)!!!)

(disclaimer: ALL my photos were REALLY derpy – sadly, these were the best… apparently Friday after work is not the best time for photos…. noted, lesson learned, moving on LOL)

IMG_0416

IMG_0409
As both fabrics were quite sheer I knew they needed underlining but wanted the silk next to my skin. I thought I’d see if I could maybe squeeze the underlining out of self fabric so I went for it and YES! Just barely had enough but I managed to squeak it out! I cut out both tops at the same time & sewed the red one first.

I used the adjusted pattern from my Laurel dress so of course no major fitting adjustments needed this time, but I did widen the arms slightly for comfort.  I should mention that this turned out a tighter fit in the chest than my dress; apparently an extra layer of even the delicate weight of habutai is enough to affect fit, particularly if there’s bust darts involved!

I constructed the blouses a little differently in order to avoid an extra finishing step at the neckline. Basically, I sewed my identical bodice pieces together at the necklines, then flipped & pressed the seam before continuing to baste together as per instructions. Voila! No facings – no bias tape. Just a nice clean neckline :)

The red top is a lovely and versatile piece; the style is flattering and works in the office, but also pairs well with jeans, or could easily be dressed up.

The silk is amazing – beautiful quality habutai with a rich, vibrant colour and a soft hand. I hand washed my top twice after the first wear (because I’m accident prone & ended up wearing some salad dressing lol) using a little shampoo and vinegar. The colour bled a little but only in the first wash, and still looks vibrant and fresh.

As lovely as the red silk is, the charcoal grey voile is even better in some ways. A perfect drape, the satisfying slight crispness of voile, the soft hand of good silk, and perhaps best of all: it’s SOOOO well behaved to sew, and presses perfectly, each seam almost disappearing into a crisp press… ahhhh just delicious!! :) I could make everything out of this fabric! :)

I also made sure to reduce my seam allowances by 1/8″ or so on this one, to make up for the extra layer of fabric. For whatever reason, though, it made this particular top a little too big, so it’s a bit poofy on my upper back and hips but whatever, I still love it LOL.

And just cause I love ya, I’m gonna share some additional derpy pics from this fun-filled photoshoot:

IMG_0413

seriously, what am I doing here?? I look like I’m about to punch my cameraman! LOL 

“Yes, that’s it! Make duck faces while pulling down your top… that’s a great look!!” said no photographer… EVER LOL.

deer in headlights? or something smells? not sure what this face is LOL.

Anyway, all silliness aside, Laurel is my (very first!) TNT pattern – you have no idea how I’ve longed for this day!! :)  It’s a great basic wardrobe staple; flattering, fits well & works with many different fabrics – I bet I’ll make many more! :)

Many many thanks again to the wonderful ladies over at Hart’s Fabric – expect me to come knocking soon for more of your sensational silks!! ^___^

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

16 responses to “Could it be?? My first TNT pattern – Colette Laurel!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

