Colette Mabel: Pencil Skirt

Oh knit pencil skirt, where have you been all my life? You are classy yet comfortable, both before lunch and after – you make me feel good AND look good when it’s raining.. or I’m tired… or it’s that time of the month – anytime, and I’m POSITIVE every girl needs you in their life! 

Colette Mabel skirt

I LOVE this pattern, folks!

To be  honest, I wasn’t immediately blown away by the innovative-ness of the designs of Colette’s 2 new patterns – after all, I have a LOT of patterns at this point and if I’m going to buy another, it needs to be different enough from what I already have to make me open my (admittedly quite loose LOL) wallet. But upon further consideration, there were 2 things that struck me on each that tipped the scales: V3 of the Mabel skirt has panels and a back vent – nice details that make it a little more office-friendly.

Colette Mabel - front and back vent

And after checking out all the initial versions of Moneta, the one common theme I noticed is that the bodice looks to have an immaculate fit (plus it can be made as a top) and the sleeveless version of the bodice is lined – something I’ve never tried before with knits.

As my time is very VERY short these days, knits are my new best friend – both sewing and wearing – so basics in knit fabric are EXACTLY what I need. Bonus: no finicky fitting & no closures – fast & painless! So even though I’m really trying not to buy new patterns, Colette’s 2 new patterns got ordered pretty quick.

Some construction notes (although it’s quite a simple make so not much to say): I graded between M at the waist and S at the hip (didn’t bother with a muslin – yay stretch!! :D). My fabric is a stable ponte, I think a rayon/poly/spandex blend – a remnant from a soon-to-be blogged project. Yes, it was a very little fabric – less than a metre I believe! I attached all my seams using my serger, and then used a twin needle for the hem. 

Mabel is a quick make – I was done in 2 evenings – including tracing (which translates to less than 2 hours in Amanda-land) I will definitely be making more of these, and a Moneta too, very soon! I only wish I could source more good quality knits locally – they are not easy to come by here, so my knit stash is sparse, otherwise I’d be making an army of these skirts, pronto!! :D

Next up on the blog – another quick knit wardrobe staple I’m in love with! (hint: the project from whose remnants my Mabel was born!) Stay tuned!

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

20 responses to “Colette Mabel: Pencil Skirt

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

