Sew Colette: Pastille

Well once again I had to ask my UFO to take a raincheque, pack up and clear out to make room for my sewing table’s newest tenant, the Pastille dress I’m doing for the Sew Colette sewalong 🙂

As i am three different sizes, from bust to waist to hip, I traced the pattern pieces, grading sizes like I did with the Meringue. The skirt part was easy, but the bodice was a little trickier. I ended up starting the grade at the bottom of the bust dart, then marking that spot on the back bodice piece using the lengthen/shorten line as reference.

We’ll see how that goes. If it’s a total fail, I’ll trace a straight size for the bodice and do a pivot adjustment. LOL I almost sound like I know what I’m talking about right? In reality I’m totally guessing and will probably end up doing 26 muslins lol.

I’m excited nevertheless – I know I’m gonna learn a TON doing this and maybe even get a cute wearable dress in the bargain! ^__^

On a side note, why oh WHYYYYY do cats always know when you have delicate pattern tissue or expensive fabric on your table??? I swear mine only go up there when there’s something I’d particularly like them to avoid on it 😛

The crime (post surgery):

20120201-212311.jpg

the culprit:

20120201-213138.jpg

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

