Sew Colette: Pastille… muslin fail

So it is confirmed: I have a weird freakish upper body with a plethora of fitting issues… or so one would think if one had seen the nightmare of crumpled fabric on me that was supposed to be my Pastille bodice.

I stared at it, pinched fabric, checked the book, made notes, pinned things, twisted and turned, but there were so many things wrong with it I can’t even be sure what I was looking at…. I know it was too big. That much was clear. Loose wrinkles abounded, in all directions, front and back. After I had pinned and drawn in at least an inch on all seams it had begun to look like a garment, albeit a poorly fitted one, but that was enough to convince me a better starting point would be to redraw the bodice a size smaller and start over. Ugh.

I am the forever optimist so I will end on a positive note: the size grading on the skirt part seems to be enough, apart from needing to whack a couple inches off the length (I folded up the pleats on the pattern pieces and cut a plain skirt for the muslin). I find it weird that both Colette patterns I’ve sewn have been long on me, as I’m 5’9″…. oh well, thank goodness for muslins!! 🙂

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

2 responses to “Sew Colette: Pastille… muslin fail

  • Salma

    Stay optimistic! Okay my two cents (although you’ve probably done this), I think the Crepe front bodice and the Pastille front bodice are very similar, and if that’s the case, maybe a horizontal tuck alteration will help, I just learned how to do this via Gertie’s crepe sewalong: http://www.blogforbettersewing.com/2010/12/crepe-sew-along-5-pattern-alterations.html

    I can’t wait to see how the final dress turns out!

  • symondezyn

    Thanks for the encouragement!! I actually spent a lot of time on this, and am on my third muslin. I went down a size and then another, and did my first FBA… and i think I’m close to a win. My problem was that I was sewing two sizes too big and still getting a tight fit on the bust, and loose folds everywhere else!! Totally solves the mystery of why nothing RTW ever fits too!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

