Score!!!

I just wanted to share a quick thrill with you all: on a whim I popped into the Sally Ann after work for a little post-stressful-week therapy browse & scored two amazing finds!

First, this book by R.A. Salvatore, one of Fantasy’s greatest writers, for $3.99:

20120302-173240.jpg

and about 1.5 meters at about 28″w of this fabric for $2.99, which upon burning a corner of it the second I walked in the door, revealed itself as none other than silk!! (toldja I’d be burning everything… thanks Janene 😉

20120302-173715.jpg

Woo hoo! good start to the weekend, ‘specially since it’s pouring out there!

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

18 responses to “Score!!!

  • ooobop!

    Ha ha… what have I started! Well done on your fabric find. I completely appreciate how uplifting that is. I’m trying really hard to read more but its always a toss up between sewing and reading time… and the question of a double headed coin!

    • symondezyn

      oh I know – I remarked to my partner last night that I wished instead of going into a store to buy things that will compete for my meager free time, that I could buy more time to work on the things I already have 🙂

      Out of curiosity, when you’ve thrifted silk, have you ever come across any with a funny smell when you wash it? Apparently it’s normal, especially with China silk but it’s so hard to get rid of! I soaked mine in a vinegar/water solution and it helped but ‘twould be nice to nix it completely 🙂

  • maddie

    That’s so cool that you burned the fabric to determine it was silk.

    It’s raining here in Philly too and I hope you get to have a some semblance of fun despite the weather!

  • Freddy Meléndez

    Me thinks new book purchase has to do with Salvatore’s involvement in Kingdoms of Amalur, I read about 12-15 books in Salvatore’s Drizzt series before it got hella boring. Kudos on finding it with the old cover and original Forgotten Realms logo, those are harder to come by.

  • beautifullysewn

    Cheap silk! Oh you ARE lucky!

    • symondezyn

      I thought so too until I washed it! LOL…. PEEE YEWWWWW… it stunk up the house so bad, my bf came home and went around sniffing, and continued to do so until I removed the foul scent from the air entirely LMAO…. supposedly some silk has a substance in it from its natural state, that if not removed in the manufacturing process, produces a foul smell when wet or heated, and I can testify to the fact that it’s absolutely true!! Weird eh?

  • Freddy Meléndez

    xD then just by American Gods already pleaseee.

    • symondezyn

      if I find it at the thrift store I will… if not it’ll have to wait; Symon needs new shoes lol

      • jenables

        Don’t know if this will help, but I thrift a LOT (prob in some of the same places you do, cause I also live in Vancouver) and I often soak fabric in my tub with baking soda…just make sure you use enough! Also, I drip dry . . Mostly because i’m not usually doing laundry when washing things in the tub, but also sometimes those smells plus heat can totally infect everything else!

        • symondezyn

          that’s a good idea – I soaked it in my washer though, cause I have a man who needs the shower lol… do you live right downtown? nice to meet a fellow Vancouverite! 🙂

  • jenables

    Oh to have a washer in your place! That’s a far off dream for the likes of me.. 🙂 I live in east van but fairly close to downtown, commercial and venables type area. I work in kits though, and drive thru downtown every day. . you?

    • symondezyn

      LOL I spent many years of weekends devoted to lugging my laundry to the laundromat so I totally relate 🙂 I live in Langley but work in New West; we don’t get downtown much these days but I expect that’ll change once the weather clears up a bit ^_^

  • Lavender

    $3 silk FTW!!! That dude’s hair, though? Wow. Just wow.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

