Slow Food to cure what ails ‘ya

There is a definite trend going on lately; people in creative or productive slumps… and I’m no different, sadly. I don’t know why – feeling tired and lethargic and just plain blah – I WANT to want to, but I can’t seem to bring myself to actually DO lol.

My lovely friend Lavender had a marvelous solution to this, and it’s one I’ve utilized myself in the past, in one way or another: getting back to basics by immersing yourself in the creation of slow food. Her recent forays include the making of cheese, yogourt, and home made mayonnaise. Lovely!! 🙂 She’s been kind enough to post her recipes and processes for the former two here.

Slow food is exactly what it sounds like: the opposite of fast food. It embraces the concept of going back to our basics and making something entirely from scratch that we could easily buy from any corner store. Why? Well for me, I do it because I care about my (and my partner’s) health: about avoiding the amount of salt and preservatives in prepackaged food, and striving to eat as cleanly and as organic as possible, and taking control over the quality of ingredients in the foods we consume. For example, I never buy “instant” anything – if I can make it, I will. Aside from making dishes that can be bought pre-made, I also make the components that go into them, such as bread, sauces, dressings, etc. and quite often things like noodles, pizza dough, and even ice cream and sorbet!

There is also the aforementioned (and incredibly powerful) therapeutic value in making things yourself. Something that took all day to make is just inevitably going to be more satisfying than picking something up from a drive thru.

So this weekend I’m going to venture forth and attempt to make my own mayonnaise for the first time. I’m thinking a lovely garlic one or one made with herbs…. or both! 🙂 I’m also thinking of taking the afternoon on Sunday and making some noodles for lasagna (made with my own home made sauce of course)… if you haven’t ever made your own noodles, totally do it! They’re amazing, delicious, and so worthwhile! 🙂

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

3 responses to “Slow Food to cure what ails ‘ya

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

