Yippee!!! Spring!!!

My very favourite season of all is Autumn but there’s nothing quite like the newness of Spring to kick up a girl’s heels and rejuvenate the spirit – the smell in the air here in the Lower Mainland is intoxicating; Japanese cherry blossoms, all manner of flowers, shrubs and flowering trees – enough to delight the senses from dawn til dusk and beyond :) We are SOOO blessed!!

It’s also the time where for many of us we start dreaming of lighter clothing and outdoor activities – the weather is so mild here on the coast, we don’t get THAT cold of a winter, but it sure is nice when one can put away the jacket and wear a hoodie instead, and when you start noticing you need a pedicure for those open toed shoes you’re dying to have a chance to wear again :)

All that being said, I’ve been on the prowl for a 50′s style sundress; the kind with wide straps, a straight across bodice and angled pockets, and LO!! Sarai from Colette patterns must have heeded my spirit’s call because what does she reveal in all its glory…..

LILY!!!

the absolutely perfect sundress: retro 50's chic meets modern bombshell - STUNNING!!

 

Colette Patterns has also released two other lovelies: another sundress – Hazel – with clever V-front seaming, perfect for stripes or border fabrics (I’m thinking of this in bordered eyelet at a later date) and Iris, the most perfect shorts I’ve seen in a long time: not too long, not too short, and with clean lines and shape, making them both elegant and summery – not at all frumpy like a lot of shorts look on me (i’ve ordered them, we’ll see if they look as elegant on my not-quite-as-willowy figure LOL)

I should be wrapping up my Truffle dress this week, and will be making some headway on the Taffy blouse this weekend so I’m almost caught up on my Sew Colette projects… this means by the time my new patterns reach me I might actually be able to sew them!! YIPPEEE FOR SPRING!!!! :D

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

6 responses to “Yippee!!! Spring!!!

  • misscrayolacreepy

    Did you order all three? I kind of want to… :)

    • symondezyn

      I ordered Lily and Iris… I’m not sure about Hazel for me yet; I think the gathers at the waist might make me look a bit too rounded hehehe :) But I’ll likely be persuaded to get it at a later date, knowing me :P

  • Maddie

    Oh I have to disagree with you.. spring is was better than autum! Oh, and aren’t the new Colette patterns just divine?

    • symondezyn

      LOL! But the smell of bonfires, the morning fog, the welcome coolness in the air after a hot summer… the gorgeous cool sunshiney days… ahh how can one resist? ^__^

      And yes… they’re ALL just a treat!!! Did you order any of them yet? :D

  • Lavender

    I am resisting buying this (very difficult) because I have a ridiculous number of patterns that are neglected, but I love it. I’d totally want to combine the bodice of the Hazel, though. I hear ya on shorts, but I’m going to try Pattern Runway’s methinks. Maybe I won’t feel too weird in them…

    • symondezyn

      *sigh* me too!! I have a bad pattern to fabric stash ratio going on… however, if I had enough fabric to make all the patterns I have I’d need to rent another apartment hehehe…. still, I couldn’t resist the new Colette ones – they’re all so darn pretty!! :D

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

