Sew Colette & Spring Palette Challenge: Taffy Complete!

I finally finished the Taffy!

20120511-061904.jpg

Hard to tell but it’s very sheer blue chiffon with an off white bubble pattern.

I made quite a lot of my own changes.

Obviously my usual FBA – yes even with a looser top; believe me, it’s necessary. It was a bit tricky on this one cause of the unusual dart but I managed to make it work πŸ™‚

The most obvious change is that I opted not to use bias tape, as my fabric was SO lightweight and sheer, I felt it would take away from its delicacy. Also I didn’t want the sleeves to stick out too wide, as I don’t need any extra attention on my chest area lol. So I did a rolled hem on the neck, sleeve edge and hem. I think it looks lovely, and really suits the fabric.

20120511-062735.jpg

20120511-062755.jpg

Also I made self ties instead of bias tape ones, again because the fabric is so delicate, I wanted the ties to be more flowy.

20120511-062851.jpg

This was my first bias garment and it was tough to cut because a) my work surface was too small and b) the fabric was so slippery, even with spray starch. Nevertheless I LOVE the look and feel of bias tops so I would do it again πŸ™‚

I also sewed the first step of the french seam for the sleeve on the wrong side (even after checking it twice lol) It was this mistake that caused the long delay in me finishing it, due to my own shame and disgust lol. In the end, instead of seam ripping on my delicate fabric I just finished the sleeve seam with the serger.

Other than that the blouse sewed up fairly quickly and the fit is great – I’ll post pics of it being worn soon πŸ™‚

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

12 responses to “Sew Colette & Spring Palette Challenge: Taffy Complete!

  • prttynpnk

    I love your little tweaks- they really serve the fabric well- too pretty.

  • ooobop!

    Oh soooo pretty! You did a great job on the finishing. I bet it feels so lovely to wear πŸ™‚

    • symondezyn

      thank you! πŸ™‚ I did try it on when it was finished, but haven’t worn it yet – I’m planning on wearing it for the first time this weekend so I’ll let you know πŸ™‚

  • Maddie Flanigan

    It’s so cool to see different versions of the same top and of course I love your version. May I suggest a tip for cutting lightweight fabric such as chiffon or charmless? Iron newspaper so that it is flat (it does not have any creases). Lay the fabric on top of the newspaper and then lay the pattern on top of that. Pin through all layers and cut. It works like a charm for me every time.

  • Lavender

    OMG! Serged rolled hem envy!!! Even with the stabilizer I ended up using, my serger has a couple looper threads that stick out. What make/model are you using (because I totally want to blame my machine and not myself).

    Seriously, this looks lovely, and I can’t wait to see it on. Bias tops are the bomb. You’re going to look fabulous!!! I’ve sewn on French seams the wrong way enough that it’s embarrassing. Face palm!

    • symondezyn

      Have you tried troubleshooting using your serger manual? Maybe it’s something quite easy to fix, like tension, or even maybe just a new needle? I have to double check on the model of my machine, but i know it’s a Kenmore 3/4, built by Janome. I’ve not had it for very long so I’m still using my manual for everything LOL.

      • Lavender

        We have the same serger! My mom bought it off a friend a few years ago and shipped it to me (I was living in Texas). I’ve since had it serviced, and it’s always been a little finicky. It does a stellar job on stable cottons and knits, and did a fantastic serged rolled hem on my Taffy muslin, which was in the same fabric as my Jasmine, barely weightier than the chiffon. I’ve done three chiffon tops with serged rolled hems, and it’s always a crap shoot. Hhmmm… maybe time for another servicing? The alignment seems off, as thread often skips in the needles, even spanking new ones. And sometimes the loopers don’t loop properly.

        I was so jazzed a year or so ago when I discovered all I needed was the separate plate for rolled/narrow hemming. And the Sears people were super helpful in getting me the right Kenmore/Janome part. Now to find a better repair shop πŸ™‚

      • symondezyn

        Hahaha nice!! LOL – I bought mine last year new, just after my mum bought her Janome and was quite thrilled to find that mine is the exact same one as hers, but i didn’t have to pay for the fancy name brand πŸ˜‰

        Mine doesn’t require me to change plates for rolled hem; I just have to flip a couple switches and disengage the knife – easy peasy!! ^__^

        I bet Sears would service it – you should check πŸ™‚ Did you get a manual for yours? I’ve written a note to myself to check mine tonight so I’ll let you know if I see anything in there about the issues you mentioned πŸ™‚

  • Annabelle

    This looks great. I am really looking forward to some photos of you happily showing off how well this blouse fits. Don’t you just love it when a sewing project turns out well? When I eventually get around to make this, I think I will use some of your ideas – like eliminating the bias tape.

    • symondezyn

      Thank you!! πŸ™‚ I’m wearing it today in fact LOL and yes…. being still relatively new to sewing, I’ve been viewing the few projects I’ve done as learning experiments, so to have something wearable out of it is just lovely! πŸ™‚ I’ll try to get pics today ^__^

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

