A bad weekend for sewing

My Mission Maxi.

I wish I could show you this dress. I really do. I made it in one day; it was a dream to sew, turned out beautifully, and is sooo pretty and elegant.

However I’m sad to say that the dreamy jersey I chose for it is shockingly, disappointingly, see through and clingy. The see through I handled with a halter bra & slip but the clingy is another story. In some lights it’s fine but in others I look like a frumpy mess 😦 If only I were a bony supermodel! lol

I SOOOO want to make this again but I’ve learned my lesson; I have to test the opaqueness a LOT more thoroughly next time I buy jersey!!

I really want to save this dress so I might try unpicking the seam binding & making a tricot lining like my smart friend from A Good Wardrobe. Shoulda listened to ya, Lizz! 🙂

Then I tried making a pair of lace tangas from the free pattern over at BurdaStyle, and it turned out a hot mess too. The pattern was massive and the lace was far too flimsy; it was a total wadder 😦 Gonna have to check my sizing & print again, and get some more lace, cause I’m not giving up!!

*sigh*

Here’s hoping my luck turns soon – I’m embarking on a BIG project soon and want it to turn out a lot better than the last two lol.

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

6 responses to “A bad weekend for sewing

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

