Revising, Updating, Planning

A day of mini projects and news!

Just like everyone else I pre-ordered Gertie’s Book back in April, and it arrived the day before my birthday – Happy Bday to me!!

20120907-153757.jpg

I’m a big fan of Gertie – especially after taking her Bombshell class & really relating to her love of couture & vintage details. I was SO happy to see the book focuses on these kind of advanced techniques, as I feel ready to progress past beginner skills; I’m craving more advanced stuff!

There are a ton of projects in this book I’d love to attempt, and I even have a plan to incorporate one of them into my very first hybrid (or Frankenpattern) project!! I also want to see if I can do the Wiggle Dress in ponte knit instead of wool – anyone know if I omit the zipper and back vent, would this work?

In other news, I’ve refashioned my Hazel because the dirndl skirt gathers were extremely uncomfortable for me, so I unpicked the front skirt, and converted the gathers to three small soft pleats on each side:

20120907-154328.jpg

I also took a few minutes to catch stitch the facing to the seams because it has a tendency to want to escape lol.

Then onto the next mini project: I chose the Hazel, my Mission Maxi, and my Bombshell dress to be the first to carry my custom tags, as they’re my only makes I actually wear:

20120907-154600.jpg

20120907-155315.jpg

20120907-154514.jpg

And last but not least, I shot & posted my vintage patterns for the Patterns & Postcards Swap, over at The Perfect Nose. View my collection up for grabs here.

Happy Friday!

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

16 responses to “Revising, Updating, Planning

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

