Sewing With a Plan: Fall/Winter 2012

I love making lists! I have lists for everything; it’s how I keep my life organized & on track.

Trouble is, my lists are always changing, so making a list for sewing is tough because my whims and inspiration can change overnight. Also, my wardrobe is so severely limited (like I mean REALLY – I have NOTHING to wear!) and there are SO many things I both need AND want to sew, it’s hard to narrow it down to a realistic level. I’m so desperate to just have clothes to wear, it’s hard to decide what should take priority.

Up til now, my sewing was organized mainly around sewalongs, as I was just learning the basics, but I haven’t come out with a whole lot of wearable pieces, or very much that feels like ME πŸ™‚ Now that I feel a bit more competent in my skill set, as well as having a clearer sense of my personal style, I want to sew now for me, with a purpose πŸ™‚

Having recently discovered StephC’s blog through Sunni at A Fashionable Stitch, I immediately fell in love with her candid way of speaking and her way of approaching fashion… and pretty much every topic, for that matter!

Steph did a series of posts on planning a wearable wardrobe using basic pieces and colours that harmonize with each other. My feelings towards colour have always been pretty much in this vein, so it felt very organic to me. This one gives a guideline on where to start and I decided to use it as my inspiration to narrow down my choices for Fall’s plan πŸ™‚

My colours weren’t hard to choose, as I’d pretty much already chosen them, but I didn’t follow the suggested pattern exactly because I’m doing two sets instead of one – one wardrobe, split into two sections: Fall and Winter. But it will essentially operate the same way as the sample wardrobe (only double!) interchangeable coordinating pieces that make it easy to dress: just throw anything on, and always look put together, cause it all matches!

My colours are black, red, navy, and blue-grey. Here is my plan for the first set (Fall):

β€’β€’β€’ black linen dress pants
β€’β€’β€’ blue Anise jacket
β€’β€’β€’ navy print jasmine
β€’β€’β€’ red renfrew
β€’β€’β€’ navy wool skirt or shorts
β€’β€’β€’ vintage gray shirt dress

In my second set, (which will essentially become my winter plan) the colours are the same only instead of blue-grey, my accent colour is cream:

β€’β€’ black wool pencil skirt
β€’β€’ black wool blazer or jacket
β€’β€’ cream blouse
β€’β€’ navy cigarette pants
β€’β€’ red cardigan
β€’β€’ black wiggle dress

Now I’m hoping I can actually stick to this plan and not get distracted by pretty new patterns or other sewists’ stellar creations!

How bout you? Do you plan your sewing or do you just wing it? πŸ™‚

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

27 responses to “Sewing With a Plan: Fall/Winter 2012

  • dottiedoodle

    I plan, then completely fail to stick to it! Too much distraction out there!!

  • StephC

    Awesome! I’m so thrilled you liked the series. I have more in that vein, I’ll pick it up after I finish The Circus…. πŸ™‚

  • Annabelle

    I love your plans! In the past year I have participated in the Coletter Fall and Spring palette challenges to plan my wardrobe. Each time I planned 3 peices and completed 2. I still feel good about it because the peices I made have been worn a ton. I always feel like I need challenges and sew-alongs to keep me on track with my sewing. There is only one thing I sewed outside of a sew-along or palette challenge that I love and wear all of the time – my floral tea blouse.

    Good luck with your plans – you’ve got a lot on your plate.

    • symondezyn

      Thanks! I sure do! lol

      Sewalongs definitely help keep me accountable and on track, but on the other hand I need to be ok with saying ‘no’ if they don’t fit into my plans πŸ™‚ I’m also way too easily led astray by new patterns! lol

  • stirandstitch

    this is very inspiring! i really need to do the same thing. i’ve been stalled lately, and i think it’s because i’m still working on summer pieces. i need to think fall/winter. and plan a wardrobe! and coordinate! and make lists! please help me keep going πŸ™‚

    • symondezyn

      Definitely!! We can be list buddies! lol

      I know what you mean; the weather here has been anything but fall, so it’s been hard to shift my focus away from summer wear… and get motivated to work in this heat lol but I’m crossing my fingers it’ll change soon. That and hopefully working on pieces and fabrics/colours I love will help keep me on track πŸ™‚

  • sallie

    Oh you’ve GOTTA stick to this plan!! You will have such a chic little capsule wardrobe if you do! Ahh… I can see it now…
    Also – I love lists too.

  • Carolyn

    I’m definitely a whimsical seamster, incapable of maintaining interest in a long term sewing plan Even though i paradoxically adore lists too, haha πŸ™‚ Your capsule wardrobe sounds mighty elegant

    • symondezyn

      LOL I can relate to the allure of both too πŸ™‚ I greatly admire your productivity so your whimsical approach is obviously working for you! ^__^

      I think maybe once I have a base wardrobe I can relax a little and let whimsy take over a bit πŸ˜‰

  • Funnygrrl

    Great plan! I love to plan-I’m an admin-but the inspiration (read: pretty, shiny things) distract me. I’m not super excited thinking about sewing a pair of charcoal trousers but I would wear them constantly. Thank goodness for sewalongs!

    • symondezyn

      I’m easily distracted by pretty, shiny things too – especially when I’m mired in a tedious project πŸ™‚ I think knowing it’s an item we’d wear lots helps at least a little though, doesn’t it? ^__^

  • Amanda

    These are great plans! I can’t wait to see how it all comes together πŸ˜€

  • ooobop!

    I love looking at other peoples plans. Hugely inspirational. I have a basic plan in my head at all times but it kind of changes on a regular basis. I’m just finishing off some projects that were intended for last winter/spring but hopefully they will be of use for this year! Just an example of a couple of projects that got hijacked by my grasshopper brain!

  • Maddie Flanigan

    I live according to lists too. It’s actually pretty sad because when I don’t have a list, I don’t know what to do with my life.

    I think you are on the right track to tackling your problem. The key, like you said, is creating an INTERCHANGEABLE wardrobe – every piece goes with one another. That comes in time though, with finding YOUR OWN STYLE.

    • symondezyn

      Me too, I can’t function without my lists lol ^__^

      Finding my own style… I’m definitely figuring that out more and more; sewing has helped a lot with that. I know now how far I can push myself out of my comfort zone, but I also know sewing within that zone (for the most part) is smarter. I think I’ve chosen items to make here, that are all within my core personal style and will be worn a lot πŸ™‚

  • Tia Dia

    I’m looking forward to your wardrobes. Thanks for your encouraging words about my first SWAP. I’ve been reading Steph’s blog, too, and am in a desperate situation with my fall wardrobe, too. I’m hoping I can stay focused on my plan! Good luck with yours!

    • symondezyn

      Thanks so much!! πŸ™‚ I found Steph’s posts so succinct – it just makes so much sense, right? ^__^ I’m looking forward to seeing your mini wardrobe too! We can help keep each other motivated! ^__^

  • Liz

    I am in the process of creating a list now, I have so much fabric I need to have a definitive plan to work through so I don’t get overwhelmed! I like Steph’s posts too, although I find it difficult to stick to only a few colours.

    • symondezyn

      So much fabric! That’s what I like to call a happy problem! ^__^

      The colour thing for me was actually the easy part; maybe because I really only feel comfortable in a few colours; maybe because in my job I’m used to using palettes. My sticky point is not being able to choose a realistic amount of projects – I have SO MUCH STUFF I wanna make! lol ^__^

      Maybe you don’t have to stick to a few colours – if you already have stuff to go with them πŸ™‚ Or just make one or two neutrals so that you can mix & match with those ^_^

  • HouseOFpinheiro (@HouseOFpinheiro)

    Wow, that’s an exciting plan.. Looking forward to see it made. I’m not sure if I’m planning anything yet as I need to dig my stash and see what will inspire me..

  • Molly Ston

    These are great plans! I can’t wait to see how it all comes together πŸ˜€

    the fat burning kitchen review

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

