Pants!

Isn’t ‘pants’ a funny word? Having British heritage and enough mates in the UK who laugh at the North American usage of the word, I get why it’s funny, but somehow saying the word ‘trousers’ doesn’t feel right to me either, (although I do try, to be correct lol)…. but for the sake of my Canadian-ness, in this post, I’m calling them pants! ^__^

True to their name, I personally think pants are also very weird to sew. Unlike dresses, tops, or skirts, where the pieces make sense even on their own, pants pieces have strange shapes and go together in a weird way that doesn’t really start making sense until they’re almost done! πŸ™‚

Now mind you, this is coming from a girl whose only pants sewing experience prior to my current UFO project was a very very inhumanly large pair of fleece jammie pants; a discouraging first foray into the world of adult sewing about three years ago, which I promptly chucked aside in disgust and which led me to give up sewing for another couple years lol.

Having said that, my talented mum assures me that sewing pants is easy; probably because it doesn’t come with the fitting issues that our upper bodies necessitate; but then, that too remains to be seen ^__^

So without further ado, I give you the first glimmer of recognizable pants pieces from my UFO – Simplicity 2562 Amazing Fit PANTS – yeah that’s right, they are officially called pants! lol

Bias bound edge of front yoke (check out my freehand edge stitching!

20121003-122500.jpg

Front and inside pocket shots – I made pockets, yo!! Including more gratuitous freehand edge stitching action:

20121003-122622.jpg

20121003-122641.jpg

So far, the instructions are very good; even for a total n00b like me lol. I haven’t yet run into any area that has baffled me; sometimes I have to read the step I’m working on twice & triple check what piece I need to use – but so far so good. I’m taking it slow. These pants are NOT made for running πŸ˜‰

I would like these to work out but I’m being realistic; this is a pretty tall order for my first pair of pants; yoked pockets, fly, contoured waistband. So if they don’t, I’m ok with that πŸ™‚ I’m finishing this UFO no matter what, and if it turns out to be a science experiment then I’ll just take notes & try again ^__^

What’s your preference? Pants? Trousers? Leg decor? LOL ^_^ How about sewing them? Do you find it harder or easier than other garments?

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

20 responses to “Pants!

  • Javie

    I found the fitting of the pants the most challenging. Sewing the pants was actually kind of fun for me but the headache was in the obsessing over the fit, wrinkles, gappy waistband, blah, blah….. Hope your project goes smoothly! For your 1st pair, I wouldn’t get too perfectionistic about the fit. Just enjoy the process of learning some new cool techniques. πŸ™‚

  • Annabelle

    These are looking great! I have yet to venture into “pants” sewing, but I really want to since a lot of my RTW pants have seen better days. The bound edges look great, I can’t wait to see the finished pair.

  • Amanda

    Looking good so far! I am terrified of trying pants, not going to lie… Can’t wait to see how these turn out- you’ve got mad skills so own it!

  • Jenny

    Pants is a goofy word–and I’m pretty thoroughly American!
    The Coletterie just put up a tutorial recently on inserting fly-front zippers that you might find helpful (if you haven’t seen it yet, that is)–it set me straight on something I was doing quite wrong!
    I find the actual sewing of pants/trousers/shorts to be quite easy–it’s the FITTING that makes me crazy. I intend to make a trouser block this fall and see if that helps at all.
    I’m impressed at how polished yours are looking!

    • symondezyn

      Thank you so much! It seems to be the consensus that the fitting of the pants is the white whale here lol. A pants block is a good idea – in fact, I’ve been seriously considering a bodice block because of similar reasons πŸ™‚ Just gotta find the time! ^_^

  • Liz

    The Colette website has some great tips on fitting of pants http://www.coletterie.com/sewalongs/the-colette-patterns-pants-fitting-cheatsheet. I haven’t made any in several years and I can’t remember any of them fitting brilliantly. I have plans to make several pairs for summer so we shall see!

    • symondezyn

      Thanks for the link! I’m sure it will come in handy πŸ™‚ It all seems very overwhelming at the moment; I figure if I can at least figure out what pieces go where I’m ahead of the game LOL ^_^

  • stirandstitch

    i lived in the uk for long enough that it feels wrong to say pants, though people here do look at you funny if you say trousers…
    whatever we call them, i find the thought of sewing them totally intimidating. so many areas where fit is critical! i suppose the prospect of perfectly fitting trou may be enough to motivate me to try making a pair, someday πŸ™‚
    yours look fabulous so far – the stitching is amazing!

    • symondezyn

      Thank you so much!! ^__^ I haven’t gotten to the fitting part yet but I am nervous! lol

      As you say though, the prospect of achieving that great fit is enticing enough to motivate me past my fears ^__^

  • maddie

    Leg decor?! Ha! It’s funny to hear that pants is a weird word for you because to me, trousers is a weird word. I’m not British or Canadian – I’m full bred American so you can see why. All about perspective, ain’t it?

    I like your attitude towards these pants. I’ve been having the same attitude towards my adventures in lingerie land. It takes muslins and test garments to get it right, and that’s okay. So if this pair of pants DOESN’T work out, just keep trucking along and make another!

    • symondezyn

      Thanks! That’s what I think too! ^__^ I’m interested to see how you go with the lingerie creation cuz eventually I really wanna try that too! ^__^

      Lol ‘trousers’ is weird to me also – let’s call them leg decor! ^_^

  • Sarah

    I once announced to the office (in the uk) that I was spending the weekend shopping for pants. Awkward. But hooray, you are braver than I

  • Calico Stretch

    Trousers. Definitely. Pants make me think of undies or those slacks thing that were so widely worn in the 70s (there is pictorial evidence to prove it).

    One morning at work, when we were living in London my normally trouser wearing Ausi friend very loudly announced, in our open plan office, that today she wasn’t wearing any pants. She was, of course, wearing a skirt. With undies. You can imagine the silence that followed! Lolololol.

    Your new pants/troosers look fantastic. I shall be stalking this pattern line to get tips :o)

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

