UFO Complete: Simplicity 2562 – Amazing Fit Pants

Yay! My UFO is finished!

I have to give mad props to this pattern. The instructions were excellent, and the process was easy to follow, even for a beginner like me ๐Ÿ™‚

I really love the inclusion of finishing details, like bias tape on the inside of the pocket & waistband edges, and the option of using hem tape.

20121017-142504.jpg

20121017-142555.jpg

I even managed to get a decent fit; however my photos are crappy so I apologize…

20121017-142807.jpg

20121017-142829.jpg
look, I have a bum! lol

My only regret is that when I originally started this project, I was fabric ignorant and when buying fabric, thought I was getting linen, but it was really poly *blech* It was AWFUL to work with; frayed everywhere, refused to press, distorted and slipped around… basically made the construction a disaster. By the time I got to the waistband facing, my accuracy was so bad I ended up with this:

20121017-143314.jpg
WTF?? How did I manage that? Then there’s the fact the front waistband is wider than the back, which I couldn’t press, so it looks hideous lol:

20121017-143439.jpg

Believe me, I’m not proud of this, nor is it at all the pattern’s fault. It’s entirely mine, as I was so frustrated with the fabric that I stopped caring at the end. (although I did hand sew the hem lol)

II show you these embarrassing shots to urge you hard working sewists out there – let’s banish polyester!! Let’s encourage our fabric shops to bring in more natural fibers – we shouldn’t have to live like this! lol

Kidding aside, I’m sure I’ll make this pattern again at some point, with a nicer, PRESSABLE fabric ๐Ÿ™‚

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

16 responses to “UFO Complete: Simplicity 2562 – Amazing Fit Pants

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

