McCall’s 4261: The Perfect Distraction Pants

So in order to keep the secret that I was making a shirt for my man for Christmas, I had to be working on something else so he wouldn’t wonder why I wasn’t sewing. (The sewing equivalent of ‘sleight of hand’ lol)

I had recently tossed a couple pairs of old ratty yoga pants; well loved but finally dead, as I wear them CONSTANTLY when I’m at home, so I decided to replace them.

Enter McCalls 4261. Everything about this pattern was awesome. First of all, three words:
ONE PATTERN PIECE.

Secondly, the fit and style are perfect, no alterations needed. I made a straight medium. The only change I made was to use ribbon for the ties instead of cord; I like that little touch of girly-ness ^_^

Thirdly, it was an incredibly fast make; even faster with a serger. This was great because the shirt was really time consuming and it allowed me to do one step a day without adding too much to my schedule.

I made a pair of shorts as kind of a muslin from a scrap of white cotton stretch knit I had on hand. I just estimated the length, as the pattern has cut lines for capri length and pants but not shorts. I sewed double seams, as called for in the pattern on these. I didn’t bother to hem them though πŸ˜›

20121227-181459.jpg
I loved the fit so I went straight to the pants, sewing all seams but the hem & waistband on my serger. I used a poly-rayon jersey which is so soft and cosy πŸ™‚

20121227-181537.jpg
Believe me, I will be making these again and again!! The pattern also includes a hoodie, tshirt, workout bra and skirt, which will ALL be sewed up eventually! I’m sure I’ll need other distraction projects in the future, not to mention great workout/lounge gear πŸ™‚

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

28 responses to “McCall’s 4261: The Perfect Distraction Pants

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

