Tough Lessons Learned

This post took me awhile to write because honestly, I was feeling pretty negative towards it.

I’m usually pretty fastidious, and I border on OCD, so when I do something careless, it’s slightly devastating; and this time it involved something I made with love & care, and the fix took hours.

In a nutshell, I washed my Anise jacket. Now, as I’d prewashed all my fabrics, and they were all washable, my reasoning was actually sound… however, I clearly had a thing or two to learn about fabric, which I’ll share with you now.

The fabric I used for my outer jacket shell was a larger weave, slightly thick cotton or bamboo (narrowed it down via burn test). The fabric, in hindsight, wasn’t the best choice because despite its weight, it’s a little too drapey and causes the jacket to bag a little with wear. I figured it’d tighten up in the wash….

Unfortunately, the other downfall (that I didn’t discover til it was too late) is that in the wash, anywhere there’s hand sewing (of which there’s a lot) as well as corners and anywhere there’s a fold, the fibers in this fabric separate and pull, and this is what ultimately happened:

20130117-141705.jpg

That’s just one area of devastation. In addition, the following had to be fixed by hand:

– holes in fold of collar
– tears in corners of welts
– front panel folds detached

It took me awhile to bring myself to do the repairs but I finally buckled down and did them the other night. Now all it needs is a press and I think it’ll be good to go.

Lesson learned; next time I’m using wool for my outerwear šŸ™‚

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

34 responses to “Tough Lessons Learned

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

