2 F.O.’s: Colette Jasmine & Sewaholic Renfrew

I’m WAY behind in my blogging and I’ll be perfectly honest as to why: I HATE taking photos of my makes.

I should specify. I hate GETTING someone to take photos of me WEARING my makes. It’s a pain, and the lighting in our apartment is poor even in broad daylight in the summer. (which it’s not lol)

Anyway, enough excuses; I figured I’d get this post out of the way to catch me up; I made two of my SWAP items and they’re both tops you’ve seen on every other blogger so I figured if there were no shots of me, that’d be fine lol

The only adjustments I made to both was an FBA; on the Renfrew though it was a simple grade since it is a knit. This is my second and third top now, and it’s becoming clear to me that I need to lengthen my tops by about an inch and a half – mainly because I wear my skirts and pants below my natural waist. So next top I’m definitely implementing that adjustment too.

Here is my Jasmine:

20130203-094336.jpg
I made the view with notched sleeve cuffs and the smaller collar tie. Everything turned out nicely except the sleeves are a little tight.

And here is a closeup of the collar on my Renfrew; I made the short sleeve V neck version. I had to eyeball the double stitching bits ’cause I only have a single needle. The collar was a bit finicky to do at the V part but I’m happy with the result šŸ™‚

20130203-094714.jpg

Sorry for the copout photos, folks – my next post will have proper shots, I promise ^_^

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

26 responses to “2 F.O.’s: Colette Jasmine & Sewaholic Renfrew

  • Gjeometry

    They look very nice! I’m working on my very first project sewing with a knit right now. I have a twin needle, so I’ve been using that. Did you use a serger on these? I don’t have a serger and am just trying to find an overlock stitch that works well enough. It’s just not the same as a serger as you have to line everything up SO precisely. Thinking that birthday gift may need to be a serger… šŸ™‚

    • symondezyn

      For the Renfrew, I used a serger for the sleeve & side seams but I used a regular zigzag stitch on the inside collar seam, which you can see in the pic šŸ™‚ The only difference really is that you then have to hand trim the seam allowance. I didn’t use the serger at all on my Jasmine; I rarely do on wovens.

      I actually just finished another knit project where I didn’t use my serger at all, so it’s definitely not a necessity – I use both cause I like to mix it up lol šŸ˜‰

  • Scruffybadger

    Looking forward to seeing more, as so far they look great….nice fabric choices.

  • Sarah

    Blogging is meant to be fun, don’t stress about it. The renfrew is one of my all time favourite patterns, just so well drafted and turns out well šŸ™‚

  • Kat H

    Yay for finished, pretty tops! I love the fabric you’ve used on the Jasmine. And your sew-in labels are adorable!

  • Sew Little Time

    totally with you on the photos thing! this time of year is just so difficult – by the time a get a chance to get photos, i have moved on to the next project and lost interest in blogging that one!

  • Andrea

    Since you wore the Renfrew when we met in Van, I can attest to the fact that the fit and colour are fabulous on you. The fabric you chose for the blouse is also super sweet. I think I mentioned that the sleeves on my Jasmine were also tight so maybe this is a pattern thing?

  • misscrayolacreepy

    I’m so jealous of your beautiful Jasmine! I tried making it last week and it was such a failure šŸ˜¦ The back neck area was gaping SO bad. I tried adding darts and it didn’t work. I’m sad šŸ˜¦

    • symondezyn

      Thanks Erin! I’m so sorry to hear about your Jasmine; I have had that problem with EVERY Colette pattern so it’s not just you – on this one I started with a smaller size and did a bigger FBA than usual. It isn’t perfect but it’s better… a little better each time right? ^_^ Don’t give up! You can do it!! ^_^

      • misscrayolacreepy

        Is using a smaller size what you have been doing with all the Colette patterns? I don’t know how to fix it!

        • symondezyn

          It’s hard to say whether that fixes it or not; for me, because I’ve also been losing weight I’ve had to keep using smaller & smaller sizes anyway, but before, where my high bust measurement fell between sizes I’d use the larger one, now I use the smaller & do a bigger FBA. It’s still not perfect though. I think I’ve come to realize that for me, Colette patterns are not the best fit – not without lots of extra adjustments anyway šŸ™‚

          Have you tried any patterns from the Big Four? I’ve made two dresses; one Vogue and one Simplicity, and didn’t have any of the upper back fitting issues I did with Colette patterns.

          I’m planning on doing a bodice block this year sometime and hopefully learn how to use it to help me adjust commercial patterns – there’s still so much I don’t know!! lol ^_^ You’re not alone with fitting issues though – email me anytime you like if you need to vent or trade notes! šŸ™‚

  • beautifullysewn

    So far so good, can’t wait to see the whole thing!

  • Annabelle

    Both of those patterns are on my to do list. I love the fabric you chose for Jasmine – hopefully we’ll be able to see a picture of you wearing it someday – perhaps with a skirt or trousers that you will sew in the future?

  • Amanda

    These look fabulous- especially loving the renfrew!
    And be kind to yourself, lovely! No rush on blogging your makes- we will all be here for when the posts pop up šŸ˜€

  • Calico Stretch

    Cop out? Nah just realistic specially when its winter and …. anyway I know what you mean.

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

