A happy problem… but a problem nonetheless

So an update on my cardi, folks (and hopefully you’ll understand) but I got to the end, was about to attach my buttons, and decided I don’t like them – at least, not for this project. I had some basic red buttons to match my fabric but the cardi has kind of a boxy, vintage look (probably because it’s from a vintage style pattern hyuk hyuk) and I thought it would look much cuter with little clear buttons. They don’t have to be vintage glass but at least reminiscent of it… so until I find the right buttons, there it hangs unfinished lol.

Now onto my happy problem. I’ve lost a bunch of weight, yo. And I’m still losing. None of my clothes fit me – including all my me-mades – which is kinda unfortunate, and leaves me with pretty much nothing to wear. I don’t want to buy or make anything new ’cause I’m still planning on losing more, but what do I do in the meantime?

Well I figured I could get started on a muslin for the Cake Pavlova top, as it’s on my SWAP list, and it is a form fitting wrap top made from jersey. If it’s a bit loose in the future, I can just tie it a bit tighter πŸ™‚

20130309-154754.jpg

I have some scrap jersey so I can test out the sizing at least and this will also give me an idea of what to work with for the Tiramisu when I get there πŸ™‚

So making Clovers is out for awhile, but I thought maybe after the Pavlova I might do a quick wrap skirt or two – same idea as the top in terms of now/future fitting. What do you guys think for those ideas, to tie me over? πŸ™‚

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

14 responses to “A happy problem… but a problem nonetheless

  • Annabelle

    It’s so hard to be motivated to make clothes when you know your body is constantly changing! If you are going to make a few things, I like your idea of using forgiving fabrics and adjustable patterns. However, depending on how much weight you are still hoping to lose, even those may not fit once you have arrived at where you would like to be. Best of luck. Way to go improving your health πŸ™‚

    • symondezyn

      Thank you, my love – I was actually thinking of you when I was deciding what to do about my situation, because once Pooh arrives, you’ll be in the same boat as me ^_^

      I’m ok with it if these grow too big for me as well; then I’ll be wanting to make more fitted and tailored styles anyway πŸ˜‰ If I can make just a few basics to get me through til then, I’ll be good to go ^_^ I’ll be having to buy jeans in stages though lol

  • Javie

    Congrats on the weight loss! The top is cute and seems easy to adjust if you lose weight. And I think the wrap skirt would be similar.

  • Funnygrrl

    Congrats! I agree that you don’t want to stitch up too much if you are still losing.
    In the other hand, you have to wear something! Sew knits or with discounted fabric. Easy TNT patterns.
    Way to go!

    • symondezyn

      Thank you! Haha, yes clothing is still mandatory lol – even if it wasn’t by law, the weather demands it πŸ˜› I agree with you – easy, simple basics is the way to go; it’s actually kind of nice planning easy, FAST makes for once! ^_^

  • punkmik

    Congrats on the weight loss! Glad its going well. Those wrap ideas sound great. I have a couple of rtw wrap dresses that stayed with me through thick and thin. :p

  • Calico Stretch

    I couldn’t agree more with knits and wrap styles … perfect and hopefully quick to sew up. Its not great to be living in them yoga pants now darlin’. lol.

    How’re you feeling now you’ve been on the diet a while?

    PS Sorry to hear about the cardi … I saw your post pop into my reader and was hoping to get a peek …. but I completely understand on the buttons. I will be patient πŸ™‚

    • symondezyn

      Aww thanks darlin πŸ™‚ I’ll try to get out soon & look for some suitable buttons ^_^

      I’m feeling good so far, though I’m so restricted on food options during this stage it’s definitely getting a bit boring! lol – but it’s such a short time in the grand scheme of things; only 2 1/2 weeks left! πŸ™‚

      Are you looking in my window or something? LOL yes, you got me – I’m guilty as charged…. even wore pj pants to the groceries the other day *blushes* I know… it’s bad – I gotta kick my butt in gear & get makin’! ^_^

  • Tia Dia

    I’m so glad to hear that you’re feeling healthy! Yeah, having no clothes that fit is a big deal – BIG deal – but knits are a great idea! I’ve always struggled with accepting my size – vertically and horizontally – and my shape – but somewhere along the line decided that’s one reason that I’ve always sewn my clothes – to dress individualistically and have things that fit my unstandard ratios. And the Pavlova is a great place to start! I’m still waiting for mine…..

    • symondezyn

      Really? You haven’t got yours yet? Well maybe you have by this point, hopefully πŸ™‚ FYI: I made a trial one in scrap knit and it’s pretty short so you can only really wear it with bottoms worn at your true waist πŸ™‚

      I know what you mean; poor fitting RTW and the desire to embrace MY shape was the reason why I started sewing too – no matter my size, my shape demands definite fitting adjustments you just can’t get with RTW πŸ™‚ Of course, size fluctuations make knits ANYONE’S best friend from time to time πŸ˜‰

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

