Wadders

I was planning on posting a previously finished project this week but instead I decided to talk about a more recent failure – a stinky old wadder.

It happens – you spend hours on something that just doesn’t work out in the end… and regardless of how you try and reassure yourself that it was good experience or whatever, it still sucks, and for me, saps my motivation for a time.

In this case the problem was that I sewed too many times while hungry & tired and thus, dumb mistakes were made over & over, resulting in frayed and destroyed seam edges too far beyond the hope of salvation.

Finally, in disgust, I threw the whole damn thing away.

Yes, I will make this pattern again out of a different fabric, but there wasn’t enough left to salvage of this one, and I’m still slightly pissy over the hours & fabric wasted.

So I’m taking a sulky break from sewing for a little bit – but hopefully I can get my mojo back soon, and if not, I have that finished project waiting to be blogged still, so at least that’s something πŸ™‚

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

12 responses to “Wadders

  • Carol Faulkner

    Don’t I know how you feel. I feel the same today. I’m trying to finish a frilly petticoat for my granddaughter. She won’t be still long enough for me to measure the length and acts about as appreciative as an I don’t know what. I can’t wad it because I need it for her Easter dress. I am tired and hungry and don’t want to cook or sew. Bah

  • Tia Dia

    Bleh…. I hate putting in loads of time and work and then having a wadder. I so hate wadding things that I’ve only ever thrown out three things without finishing them….. I keep hoping that I’ll re-make the rest of my wadders, or quilt the fabric, or make doll’s dresses sometime in the future….. haha! πŸ™‚ Here’s to picking up a new project that will work out beautifully – like all your recent trouser makes. πŸ˜€

    • symondezyn

      thanks Tia! πŸ™‚ I hate it too – and I really tried to save this one but I swear it wanted to die! lol – at the very least I know it would continue to mock me if I hadn’t gotten it out of my sight for good πŸ˜›

  • Annabelle

    It’s terrible how that desire to keep sewing and finish a garment can have a most disastrous outcome! Being tired and hungry while sewing has resulted in the destruction of two projects since I started sewing – and I’ve scrapped both projects. Such a shame. I’m not sure which is worse, the waste of precious time or beautiful fabric?

    At least you can knit during your sewing sabbatical – even if it’s just a day or two ;p

    • symondezyn

      oh Annabelle, you’re so right – why must we persist so stubbornly? πŸ˜› Unfortunately I’m frustrated with my knitting project too so there’s no consolation there… good thing I have other hobbies! lol

  • LaraG

    Ugh, that is the worst. I always feel a little bit defeated by wadders, but fortunately they are becoming less and less frequent as I get better at this whole sewing thing. I’ve actually been thinking over the last little while that this might not be the best thing though, I’m getting better at sewing, but I’m starting not to challenge myself as much as I used to. That needs to change for sure!

    • symondezyn

      yes experience offers its own challenges doesn’t it? we have to be real about where we need to push ourselves and sometimes that’s tough πŸ™‚ Although my wadders are fewer with experience, surprisingly they’re often the easier projects; I get cocky & take liberties I definitely don’t with more challenging ones – to my demise ^_^

  • fabrickated

    I completely sympathise with your last comment Amanda. It is when I am too relaxed that I mess up, as well as when I am tired, short of time and stressed. So that just leaves the “zone” time as being good. I can just say that in decades of sewing I hardly ever get a perfect outcome, first time. There is always something that could have been better if I had redone it. At the moment I have done several alterations post completion which is ridiculous really. Sorry you are a bit cross with yourself but you will have learned quite a lot through the bad experience.

    • symondezyn

      You’re right – the lesson is what’s left when the sting of pride fades lol. I suspect most of us strive for perfection & are tough on ourselves when we fall short of our own high standards; it helps knowing there are others who experience the same process πŸ™‚ I can honestly say I’ve not gotten a perfect result yet so at least it’s good to know there’s a hope I might one day! lol

  • oonaballoona

    beeeeeeyoooootiful lines, just gorgeous!!

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

