2011 – The Year in Review, and Looking Ahead to 2012

I thought I’d take a few minutes to reflect on the year past, as it occurred to me I have been focused so much on my goals ahead that I rarely ever take time to reflect on the things I’ve accomplished.

I don’t subscribe to the traditional New Year’s Resolutions idea – what I do is make a long term list of goals, similar to my ongoing t0-do list only on a larger scale. In 2011 however, there was one big goal for me to achieve and that was:

“To acknowledge and recognize my unique beauty the way God intended me to be instead of self-deprecating. To be the best I can be the way God made me, not how society wants me: to be a beautiful healthy vessel for HIS spirit, not the world’s”

I realize not everyone has the same beliefs, but for me, in order to overcome a crippling sense of self deprecation, and debilitating body image issues, it was essential for me to focus on my spiritual nature, and the nature of my faith and beliefs. That was my main goal for 2011, and while I am always learning and growing, I think I can say I have more or less achieved that one 🙂

Once this was accomplished, I was in a place where I could focus on healthy self growth. I focused whole heartedly on my art, rekindled my desire for fashion, and to take up sewing again, and finally, to determinedly pursue better health and wellness.

Since the fall of 2011, I’ve taught myself a few new and ambitious recipes, started a painting for the first time in years, bought a serger and taught myself how to thread and use it, completed a blouse (during which I learned several new skills), started and maintained this blog, started and maintained taking vitamins again, started and maintained a regular exercise regime, and have lost ten pounds total so far (even over the holidays!) 🙂

For 2012, I have many goals in mind. I’d like to continue the things I’ve started and see them through. I also want to make a more handmade tailored wardrobe, planned carefully and made with care and attention to detail. There are many things I’ve never done and would like to try, such as making at least one jacket (i have a fetish for jackets!!), making a corset (i also have a fetish for corsets LOL), learning the fine art of correct fitting and maybe even getting it down, as well as participating in sewalongs, contests, and community challenges.

To all my fellow sewists and artists out there, I hope to see you in some of the same forums, challenges and sewalongs – may 2012 be a year of peace, growth, learning and accomplishment for all of us!!! 🙂

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

2 responses to “2011 – The Year in Review, and Looking Ahead to 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

