Sew Colette: Truffle Dress Complete

Finally completed the March challenge of Sew Colette: The Truffle Dress!!

20120415-184425.jpg

I learned a lot on this challenge as well: how to install a facing & attach it to a zipper mostly. I also experimented with using spray starch to stabilize my fabric; a VERY fray-prone, slippery dress weight rayon. I lined the bodice with cotton batiste and I really like the feel of it.

20120415-184547.jpg

Overall I like the way the dress turned out… except that it’s a bit too tight lol. I can get it on but there’s NO WAY I’m wearing it to go out for dinner lol – I’d be afraid of a major wardrobe malfunction! lol. No worries though; I’m on a health & fitness plan and have been losing weight so I’ll bet I can wear it comfortably, soon 🙂

Gratuitous closeups, including kitty trying to hide under it lol:

20120415-184810.jpg

20120415-184819.jpg

Now onto April’s challenge: The Taffy Blouse!! 🙂

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

15 responses to “Sew Colette: Truffle Dress Complete

  • Maddie Flanigan

    It looks great! A black dress is always so chic and that is no exception for you 🙂

  • ooobop!

    What a lovely dress! Great style and perfect length. Very chic indeed! Its interesting what you say about the fit. I’ve since realised that no matter how well I fit my clothes to me, I am going to change shape on pretty much a daily basis… so it kind of defeats the object really. I think you have the right idea. Make the dress the size you want and then shift a couple of pounds to fit in it! 😉

    • symondezyn

      hahaha!!! well the muslin fit but I think it ended up fitting a little smaller cause of the lining – I have erred on the “too big” side up til now; seems I can’t quite nail that sweet spot yet lol

  • scruffybadger

    Well I think it looks great, lovely in the darker colour. Suits you

  • 7cakes

    That’s adorable!!! And don’t you dare tell me your zipper is any where close to as bad as mine…. it’s NOT =D

  • misscrayolacreepy

    It looks SO good!

  • Lavender

    The length is perfect!!! And the fit looks good from here, too. My weight always stays about the same, but my shape changes… going into summer = boot camp = more changes. Good, but sigh…

    • symondezyn

      My weight is only changing cause I want it to – LOL but that doesn’t mean it isn’t still a b**ch to fit my figure 😛 LOL I keep having to re-measure and re-configure my pattern size vs. FBA amount every time I make a new garment, and I gotta say… I’m really looking forward to being able to adjust a pattern once and then just use it again and again… LOL

      Bootcamp you say? Like for the army? Or the fitness kind they do on the telly where they yell at you and make you do a billon pushups? LOL

      • Lavender

        Oh no, not the army! It’s an outdoor fitness boot camp (booty camp, as I call it), and the trainers are tough, but not mean. They’re really encouraging. Last year I did it, and it totally made me more energized and happier overall. And inches smaller & firmer 🙂 But the same weight, so I just ignore that number!

      • symondezyn

        That sounds intense!! Your weight stays the same or even gets higher when you train like that because your muscle mass and bone density increase – which is a good thing! 😀

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

