Papercut Bellatrix Blazer

So I made a blazer πŸ™‚

 

Inspired once again by Anne’s numerous makes, I was turned on to the clean lines and versatility of this pattern.

Although I really like the short version, I settled on the longer version first, as the fabric I used was more dressy and i wanted it to be wearable for both office attire and with jeans.

 

I swear it’s pressed, but the fabric has a soft drape and texture, making it appear creased, which along with a burn test, makes me think it’s linen or a linen blend.

I’m showing it pictured here on Patience, as it’s easier to get a feel for the style lines and texture of the fabric when it’s sunny, and it was, fortunately, when I finished it and took these shots – but hasn’t been lately πŸ˜‰ 

I found it interesting that the pattern calls for most of the body to be interfaced, but I wanted to keep the softness of the fabric so I used a weft interfacing in a little lighter weight than my fabric. It was the first time for me using this type, and with all the steam required to press & shape these seams I feel like I probably should have pre-shrunk it because it shrank during application so I steamed the crap out of it before sewing so it wouldn’t cause me too much heartache later on. It still did, but not too badly πŸ™‚

I also added a self drafted sleeve head for a little extra support.

The lining is a superb quality Bemberg rayon which is just a delight to touch and wear but as always, I despise sewing lining because Bemberg is notorious for misbehaving lol.

As for fit, I did two FBA’s; one and then another adjustment again after my first muslin. I adjusted the waist just the once but should have tweaked that as well the second time; that said, it fits with a hook & eye at the waist rather than a buttonhole so that’s fine. I also lengthened the sleeve 3″. These are all standard adjustments for me so pretty much normal πŸ™‚

I would like to make this again, in the shorter version but I plan faster than I sew so may not happen anytime soon, as I have a massive queue, including wedding sewing lol πŸ™‚

In other news, Me Made May is fast approaching and I’m taking the pledge for the first time! πŸ™‚ I know I have really limited choices in lounge wear so I suspect that will be my biggest challenge but challenge is the whole point! I’m nervous but excited to see what I learn πŸ™‚ Anyone else joining in? πŸ™‚ 

About symondezyn

graphic designer, illustrator, and artist of many skills... always striving towards new challenges and goals, and always with more projects than time to do them in!! View all posts by symondezyn

14 responses to “Papercut Bellatrix Blazer

  • lloubb

    Love the garment and the name of your dressform!!

  • Kate Davies (@fabrickated)

    Great jacket – rippling raspberry – perfect for spring. And I love Patience too. Mine is stuck up and called the Duchess, but we call her Camilla to take her down a peg or two. MMM – maybe, maybe.

  • Liz

    what a fabulous jacket! Well done! I would love to try my hand at this pattern. I think a hook and eye closure is perfect for this style.

  • Tia Dia

    Gorgeous! I love the lines of this jacket. And bemberg is the best lining if you can’t afford or don’t want to use silk crepe de chine, imho. Yeah, it slips around, but it’s pretty forgiving, too! I totally forgot about MMM….

    • symondezyn

      Thanks Tia! Yes it’s a great structure, and I’m not usually a fan of peplums but this one works πŸ™‚ I would use silk crepe de chine (Bemberg is almost as expensive lol) but it’s really tough to find here – maybe I’ll source it online, as it’s so much nicer to work with! πŸ™‚

  • Annabelle

    What a great blazer! If I still worked in the corporate world I would totally be inspired to make one of these. Unfortunately, I now change my clothes at least once a day since I watch my nephew and he always spits up – so a tailored blazer is not on the priority list πŸ˜‰

    Are those pockets functional? I love the detail of them! Your princess seams looks perfect – you must have those fancy tailoring accessories πŸ˜‰

    • symondezyn

      Aw Annabelle – you’re too sweet πŸ™‚ You could totally rock this with jeans for a kid-free coffee date πŸ˜‰ No fancy tailoring tools here; just lots & lots of steam & pressing… and a few burnt fingers lol Yes, the pockets are functional – but tiny, so – bus pass & a tissue basically lol

  • gingermakes

    Beautiful color! I really like the hook & eye closure- I did a buttonhole for mine, but really, I prefer how it looks not overlapping. Much cleaner and nicer!

  • mrsmole

    To find a princess seamed jacket with a waist is a bonus! Your FBA is great and all the seams look so nice and the color…well how delicious is that? If you find some well priced Bemberg…buy a bolt for all the future projects! Stand back and wait for the compliments!

    • symondezyn

      Thanks Mrs M! πŸ™‚ I always buy Bemberg in neutral colours when our local fabric store has their 50% off sales; like interfacing & zippers (and foam boobies for some people πŸ˜‰ lol), it’s a great stash item! ^_^

Thank you for taking the time to comment - I truly appreciate each and every one! :)

